Big Phil interview

Saw this just now on the offical site (the shed) and decided to post it here -

Q: You took the Chelsea job after seven years in international football. How much had club football changed during that period?

BPS: It was different, for sure. Commercial interests now rule player signings. I had to adapt what else could I do? Of course I was aware of this new scenario when I was a national team coach, but there are still things that scare you. For example, you cant buy or sell a player because he has a contract with A, B or C, a kit supplier or something else. Situations like this means the planning, the project of building a squad, can go down the drain.

Q: What went wrong at Stamford Bridge? If you had your time again, would you do anything differently?

BPS: I know I was doing a good job. We had qualified for the next stage of the Champions League, in the Premier League we were third or fourth, but still fighting for the title. It was still the beginning: there was a lot to do in the project we had laid out. The plan included trying to fix things that were not right there. But I found a closed club, not ready for such changes. There was a group running things there for many years. For me to arrive alone, with only three or four people from my staff, and start to put these changes in motion...it was not easy. It was three or four of us against 30. [Q: What changes did you have planned?]. We agreed to use more players from the youth squads, so we could, with time, replace the older players. But I couldnt do that, and you know why? When I arrived, they told me there was plenty of quality there. But there wasnt. If there were talented players, where are they now? But the staff kept telling Abramovich that the Chelsea Academy was the worlds best. They signed players for absurd fees...this was deception! I was truly honest to say, "This is not good." Ive never been a guy to spread honey. I will always say what I think.