Southampton Preview & Tips

David Lenton

Before I begin my Chelsea v Southampton preview and betting tips article let me introduce myself. Im David L tipster, writer and chief editor for http://www.cheekypunter.com/'>cheekypunter.com

Im an ex professional online sports bettor and poker player and now dedicate my time to running my website while betting sports on the side. Jim has kindly invited me onto TalkChelsea.net to write some match previews for upcoming Chelsea games and hopefully help you guys win a few quid as well.

You can find out more gripping info about me on the Cheeky Punter about page but now onto the preview and my tips.

Chelsea thrashed Stoke 0-4 at the Britannia last time out and if there's one thing they'll expect from this game it's to score goals and plenty of them. Three points against the Saints will pull the Blues within 4 points of second placed Man City and will close the gap to league leaders United to 11 points.

After a rocky start to the season Southampton are no unbeaten in their last four league games managing a win and three draws to pull them out of the relegation zone into 15th place. A very questionable penalty got them over the line at Villa Park last time out but to be brutally honest they'll come to Stamford Bridge expecting very little out of the game.

Form

Chelsea: WLWLW

Southampton: DDDLW

Latest meeting

Southampton 1 Chelsea 5 FA Cup Third Round Jan 5th 2013.

Previous Line Ups

Chelsea: Cech, Ivanovic, Cole, Luiz, Azpilicueta, Bertrand, Ramiers, Lampard, Mata, Hazard, Ba

Southampton: Boruc, Clyne, Yoshida, Hooiveld, Shaw, Schneiderlin, Ramirez, Cork, Puncheon, Lambert, Rodriguez

Team News

Chelsea are without the on form Victor Moses who's now joined up with Nigeria for international duty at the Africa Cup of Nations. John Obi Mikel is also unavailable also on international duty with Nigeria.

Romeu is out with a knee injury and isn't expected back any time soon.