Hello from Arkansas USA

I am relatively new to following the sport full time having followed international competitions for the past 12 years or so. I grew up with American football/basketball/baseball mostly like the majority of sporting fans here.

I have been to London twice in my lifetime and attended my only live match at Stamford Bridge as a youngster.

I have fallen in love with the sport and when it came time to adopt a Epl side it was a natural choice. I am a lifelong Kentucky basketball fan and the parallels are there as well being a massive team in their respective sports and both in blue and white.

When I follow a team it is a lifelong commitment and one I take seriously.

I feel I am coming in at a perfect time. Shortly after I began following Chelsea the signings of Cesc, Costa, Luis, and return of Courtois came quick and have me very excited for this coming season.

I am familiar with many of the players from international competition and from general lurking around watching for fun rather than as a specific fan of any side.

I am hoping for a warm welcome here. I am aware that unlike with my other teams I am a newcomer without any credibility as a fan but I expect that to change over time.

Please forgive any ignorance I may display. Football in the states has been ignored by the media and fans during most of my lifetime so there are many like myself that are still learning. I am hopeful that this generation will change that trend as well as bring far more elite American athletes to the game.

I don't think the US gets the respect internationally that it deserves considering that virtually all our best athletes go into 3 other sports before football is even considered. Imagine if the same effort were put forth here that is in other countries. More children here now play football than any other sport but the elite athletes still gravitate to the big 3 sports and the goal is to change that.